Norwalk CSD

Online Lunch Payments


Watch Dogs
Learn More about Watch Dogs!


City of Norwalk 

City of Norwalk Website


Looping Classrooms PDF  | Print |
Academics - Oviatt Options

A looping classroom is an environment where students and teacher(s) stay together two consecutive years.  Don Oviatt offers looping at K-1 and 2-3 as an option from which parents may choose.

Reasons why looping may be a good match for a child…

  • Students’ anxiety about returning to school by having the same peers and teachers is lessened.
  • Students’ review at the beginning of the year is decreased due to two-year loop.
  • Students have increased opportunities for bonding between teacher(s) and students as well as teacher(s) and parents.
  • Shy students have increased opportunities to develop self-confidence.Students’ strengths, weaknesses, learning styles, and personalities are better understood by teachers.

Non-Discrimination Notice

Norwalk Community Schools Non-discrimination Statement
The Norwalk Community School District provides equal educational and employment opportunities and will not illegally discriminate on the basis of race, creed, color, sexual orientation, gender identity, national origin, sex, disability, religion, age, ancestry, or actual or potential parental, familial, or marital status or socioeconomic status.  The Norwalk Community School District will take affirmative action in recruitment, appointment, assignment, and advancement of women and men, members of diverse racial/ethnic groups, and persons with disabilities for job categories in which any of these groups of people are underrepresented.
Inquiries related to this policy may be directed to Mrs. Kate Baldwin, Norwalk Community Schools Equity Coordinator, 906 School Avenue, Norwalk, Iowa 50211, or by phone at 515-981-0676 or by email at   Inquiries may also be directed to the Iowa Civil Rights Commission, the Region VII Office of the United States Equal Employment Opportunities Commission, or the Region VII Office of Civil Rights, United States Department of Education.